A month on the French Riviera

From pickles to Paris

The Promenade des Anglais, or the coast of the Mediterranean Sea, a twenty minute walk from my host mom's apartment and my favorite place in the city. The Promenade des Anglais, or the coast of the Mediterranean Sea, a twenty minute walk from my host mom’s apartment and my favorite place in the city.

For those of you who didn’t know, my absence for the last month is explained by my participation in a study abroad program in the beautiful city of Nice (pronounced like the English word “niece”), France. While I was technically taking a journalism class while over there, I learned more about the culture and language of this southern France city than I ever could have learned about being a journalist.

After more than 24 hours in airplanes and airports, finally landing in Nice was a frightful blessing. It had just dawned on me that I had dropped myself into a country who’s language and culture I knew very, very little about (though my friend I was traveling with knew the language very well)…

View original post 544 more words

Leave a Reply

